Iran fall short against Chinese Taipei at Asian Women’s Volleyball Championship

August 9, 2017

Iran started the 19th edition of the Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship campaign with a loss against Chinese Taipei.

Akram Ghahremani’s team lost to Chinese Taipei 3-1 (25–15, 25–27, 25–17, 25–20) in Group D.

Powerhouse Thailand defeated minnow Maldives 3-0 (25–5, 25–12, 25–9) in this group.

Next on Iran’s plate is a battle against Thailand and Maldives happening Thursday and Friday.  

The 2017 Asian Women's Volleyball Championship is being held from 9 to 17 August 2017 in the Philippines. Matches will be held in two cities, namely Biñan and Manila.

A total of 14 teams have been divided into two groups of four teams and two groups of three.


POOL A: Philippines, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong

POOL B: China, Japan, Australia

POOL C: Korea, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, New Zealand

POOL D: Thailand, Chinese Taipei, Iran, Maldives

Leave a Comment

9 + 0 =